EDUCATION

Slavery has had a significant impact on our history: it gave rise to the France in which we now live – a territory that stretches across several continents, a population of diverse origins, a Republic founded on human rights.

Enabling young people to understand how present-day France – its geography, culture, values and diversity – is the product of this four-century history is a fundamental mission of the Foundation.

We offer teachers and all educators a set of resources and tools for educating young people about this complex history, so that they can all grasp today’s world and become full-fledged citizens of it. The education program supports teachers and students in a range of different ways.

The Foundation has produced an analysis of school textbooks, and offered suggestions on how to improve how slavery is addressed in teaching. Read the"Slavery in School Textbooks and Curricula: 7 Proposals" note (in French) 

GET TRAINED 

In partnership with the French Ministry of Education, as well as with various cultural institutions and organizations, the Foundation provides a variety of training courses on the history of slavery, the slave trade and their abolition for teachers, trainers and youth leaders throughout the year.

A schedule of available training courses will be published at the beginning of the school year.

CONSULT

Digital resources 

The Foundation aims to provide teachers with a wide range of resources in order to enable them to have an up-to-date approach to the history of slavery and its legacies in their teaching practices. The resources are designed to be used with cross-curricular projects.

Academic resources: articles, reports, book reviews, bibliographies, etc.

Educational proposals based on a diverse range of original documents (objects, archives, works of art, archaeological sites, music and more.) to offer a different approach to he history of slavery by diversifying points of view. These educational tools have been developed by the FRS itself or by partner institutions that are experienced in designing high-quality teaching materials, such as INRAP's "Archaeology of Colonial Slavery" archaeo-capsule, for which we have entered into a partnership for distribution at the national level.

Digital content: video capsules, info-graphics, podcasts, biographies, maps and interactive documents

BORROW

The FRS' resource materials

  • The Foundation is working on creating teaching kits for classroom activities.

  • A travelling exhibition will be available for schools in 2021.

EXPLORE

The heritage of slavery

In all the societies concerned, both in Europe and around the world, there is a varied, sometimes unexpected and often little-known heritage relating to the history, memories, representations and legacies of slavery. These heritage resources are all traces that can be explored with students in order to address the extent of the historical phenomenon of slavery in the past and to understand its legacies in our society today.

  • Tangible heritage: museums, memorials, archive centres, buildings, archaeological sites, urban tours, etc.
  • Intangible heritage: literature, music, dance, sports, cuisine, botany, languages...
  • The work of contemporary artists
  • The network of more than 50 Heritage institutions initiated by the "Patrimoines déchaînés" (Unchained Heritage) meeting in 2019 makes it possible for these resources to be available near you.

Discover the 2019 "Patrimoines déchainés” Encounters

PARTICIPATE

Every year since 2015, the national "Flame of Equality" school competition has invited teachers and students to do a project about the history of the capture of and trade in slaves, the lives of slaves and the struggles for abolition, as well as on their relics, impacts and contemporary legacies.

This competition, run by the Foundation in partnership with the Ligue de l'enseignement, is open to all school levels throughout France and to French schools abroad. The Foundation is working to increase the number of classes and their diversity, to facilitate participation and to offer attractive prizes.

Find out more

SHARE

In order to enable constant enrichment of resources and sharing educational experiences, teachers who wish to do so may register from the beginning of the school year 2021 in a dedicated shared space on this site to:

  • offer their contributions
  • share their information and new
  • host the achievements of their students
  • correspond with each other to facilitate working together in the same region, or to find “sister schools” in continental or overseas France

START A PROJECT

The FRS can support your projects within the framework of its calls for educational projects specifically aimed at schools:

  • by promoting them with a label that acknowledges their educational value.
  • by supporting them financially.
  • by helping them to find the right people for the project, including experts in:
    • the visual arts
    • dance
    • music
    • theatre
    • writing
    • anti-racism and discrimination workshops
    • critical-thinking workshops

Calls for proposals are annual and will be announced on the website and social media.

ÉDUCATION

L’empreinte de l’esclavage est majeure sur notre Histoire : il a donné naissance à la France dans laquelle nous vivons - un territoire français qui se déploie sur plusieurs continents, une population aux origines diverses, une République fondée sur les droits de l’homme.

Faire comprendre à la jeunesse comment la France d’aujourd’hui est, dans sa géographie, dans sa culture, dans ses valeurs et sa diversité, le produit de cette histoire de quatre siècles est une mission fondamentale de la Fondation.

Nous proposons aux enseignants et à tout éducateur en général, un ensemble de ressources et d’outils pour éduquer à cette histoire complexe, afin de permettre à tous les jeunes de lire le monde d’aujourd’hui et de s’y inscrire en citoyens. Le programme éducation accompagne les enseignants et les élèves de plusieurs façons.

SE FORMER

En partenariat avec l’Éducation nationale mais aussi avec diverses institutions culturelles et associatives, la Fondation déploie des formations variées autour de l’histoire de l’esclavage, des traites et de leurs abolitions pour les enseignants, les formateurs, les encadrants de jeunes… tout au long de l’année.

Un agenda des formations disponibles sera publié à la rentrée.

CONSULTER

Des ressources numériques

La Fondation veut mettre à disposition des enseignants des ressources d’une grande diversité pour leur permettre une approche actualisée de l’histoire de l’esclavage et de ses héritages dans leurs pratiques pédagogiques. Elles permettent de mener des projets interdisciplinaires.

  • Des ressources scientifiques : articles, rapports, compte-rendu de lectures, bibliographies…
  • Des propositions pédagogiques fondées sur des documents diversifiés et originaux (objets, archives, œuvres d’art, sites archéologiques, musique…) pour aborder l’histoire de l’esclavage autrement en diversifiant les points de vue. Ces outils pédagogiques sont élaborés par la FME et par des institutions partenaires de la Fondation qui ont déjà conçu d’excellent supports. L’exemple de l’archéocapsule « Archéologie de l’esclavage colonial » de l’INRAP qui fait l’objet d’un partenariat pour une diffusion à l’échelon national.
  • Des contenus numériques : capsules vidéo, infographies, podcasts, biographies, cartes et documents interactifs…

EMPRUNTER

Des ressources matérielles de la FME

  • La Fondation travaille à la création de mallettes pédagogiques pour réaliser des activités en classe.
  • Une exposition itinérante sera disponible en 2021 pour les établissements.

EXPLORER

Le patrimoine de l’esclavage

Dans toutes les sociétés concernées, en Europe et dans le monde, il existe un patrimoine varié, parfois inattendu, souvent méconnu, relatif à l’histoire, aux mémoires, aux représentations et aux héritages de l’esclavage. Ces ressources patrimoniales constituent autant de traces qu’on peut explorer avec les élèves pour aborder l’ampleur du phénomène historique qu’a été l’esclavage hier, et en comprendre les héritages dans notre société aujourd’hui.

  • Le patrimoine matériel : musées, mémoriaux, centres d‘archives, patrimoine bâti, sites archéologiques, circuits urbains…
  • Le patrimoine immatériel : littérature, musique, danse, sports, cuisine, botanique, langues…
  • Les œuvres d’artistes contemporains
  • Le réseau de plus de 50 institutions patrimoniales initié par la Fondation « Patrimoines déchaînés » permet de mettre ces ressources à disposition près de chez vous.
    Découvrir les rencontres Patrimoines déchainés 2019

PARTICIPER

Chaque année depuis 2015, le concours scolaire « La flamme de l’égalité » invite enseignants et élèves à réaliser un projet sur l'histoire des traites et des captures, sur la vie des esclaves et les luttes pour l'abolition, mais aussi sur leurs survivances, leurs effets et leurs héritages contemporains.

Ce concours géré par la Fondation en partenariat avec la Ligue de l’enseignement est ouvert à tous les niveaux scolaires sur l’ensemble du territoire français ainsi qu’aux établissements français à l’étranger. La Fondation travaille à accroître le nombre de classes et leur répartition, à faciliter les participations et à proposer des prix attrayants.

En savoir plus

MUTUALISER

Afin de favoriser un enrichissement constant des ressources et de mutualiser leurs expériences pédagogiques, les enseignants qui le souhaitent pourront s’inscrire dès la rentrée 2020 dans un espace partagé dédié sur ce site pour :

  • proposer leurs contributions
  • partager leurs informations et actualités
  • héberger les réalisations de leurs élèves (lien lauréats flamme de l’égalité)
  • se mettre en relation entre eux pour travailler ensemble sur un même territoire ou encore mettre en place un jumelage avec un établissement de métropole ou d’outre-mer…

MONTER UN PROJET

La FME peut soutenir vos projets dans le cadre de ses appels à projets pédagogiques spécifiquement destinés au monde scolaire :

  • en les valorisant par un label qui en reconnait leur valeur pédagogique
  • en les soutenant financièrement
  • en les accompagnant pour trouver des intervenants adaptés au projet, experts en :
    • arts visuel et plastiques
    • danse
    • musique
    • théâtre
    • écriture
    • ateliers d’éducation à la lutte contre le racisme et les discriminations
    • ateliers d’éducation à la pensée critique

Les appels à projets sont annuels et ils seront annoncés sur le site et les réseaux sociaux.